Living Laughing And Creating

Loving Life On A Budget

4 Months of House Building & RV Living

on January 9, 2015

It’s amazing to me how far the house has come in four months. Even with a few weeks of bad weather, things have moved along nicely. They only have a little more to brick and then they will pour our concrete porches. That would have been done this week, but the weather has been too cold for them to finish.

House bricked

 

On Tuesday, the power company came out and moved the meter over to the house. Our temporary power pole is gone, and we now have a long cord from the camper to the side of the house. Yes, there will always be a RV hook-up on the side of our house….a subtle reminder of our RV living adventure. Finally having power allowed them to cut some heat on in the house, so the floors can acclimate and start being finished next week.

Power to House

 

On Wednesday night, it dropped to a very chilly 8 degrees. The heat kept up pretty well. Unfortunately, some of our water pipes froze. We could only get cold water out of the bathtub and bathroom sink, and water would not come out of the kitchen sink. Since we could at least get cold water, we put some in a large pot to warm on the stove for bathing. The optimistic side of me was very happy to have good hot water to wash my hair, because what I warmed on the stove was warmer than what usually comes out the shower. After putting a large kerosene heater under the camper for several hours, water began to flow again. Since it was going to be very cold again last night, we shut off the water pump and blew out the lines before going to bed. Thank goodness we had running water this morning when we cut the pump back on.

After four months of RV living, this camper is getting smaller by the day. I’m not going to lie, the trunk of my car is full of stuff I just needed to get out of here but don’t want to put in storage. At any time, I can pull travel bags, clothes, and even bedding out my car. Today I added some Christmas decorations from the tree I decorated for school. The thing I’m ready for the most is the ability to have a place for everything, so I don’t have to deal with the clutter anymore. If I had to do this again, I would organize the camper a little differently, and put more things in storage. With the end in sight, I see no reason to go to all that trouble now, however I think it would have made our time in the camper more pleasant.

We continue to learn new lessons through this experience, and we still do not regret the decisions we’ve made. Hopefully within the next month we will be moving into our new home. If not, our cozy little camper will continue to serve our needs. 🙂

Leave a Reply

