Living Laughing And Creating

Loving Life On A Budget

3 Months of RV Living and House Building

on December 11, 2014

I can’t believe we have been living out here for three months! Time has really flown by, and for that I am grateful. To think there was nothing in this field three months ago is crazy. I’m so excited by all the progress that has been made, and I’m hoping in another couple months we will be moving into our new home. I’m going to be honest….I haven’t actually gone into the house in about two weeks. That’s so sad…I know! First, I don’t like going in while people are working, because I don’t want to be in the way. However, by the time I get home from work, it’s dark outside and the house is not hooked up to power yet. The second reason is because it’s difficult to get in and out of the house on that little ramp at the door. The people working don’t have a problem with it, but I do. It wasn’t bad when it was nailed to the floor, but it is not nailed down anymore. I’m scared of heights and falling, so I don’t go in unless my husband is there to hold my hand. Considering he almost flipped off of that ramp the other day means my concerns are valid, and that makes me feel better.

Since the last time I posted, things were moving a little slow due to Thanksgiving and cold/rainy weather. The week of Thanksgiving, they came to hang the sheet rock. Since then, they have been slowly finishing it. The guys doing that have been very careful to make sure everything was drying well before sanding the walls. Since the weather has been so cold, they have been here about every other day.

Living Room Dry Wall

A couple days ago, they finished the dry wall in the main areas of the house. The next day, painters showed up to start priming and painting. That same day, the tile guy arrived. In only a couple days, he has the tile laid in all the bathrooms and the laundry room.

Tile Cutting

In order for us to have the power company come hook the house up to power, the brick has to be done at least to the area where the meter box goes. The masons are still finishing up another project, but they came out the other day and got the brick laid to the point we can have power hooked up. Hopefully our electrician will be here today to get everything ready for the power company.

Brick Day 1As for life in the RV, I have a couple complaints. I miss cooking, and I miss having my washer and dryer. Other than that, we are doing well. This morning it was 26 degrees here, and our water line had frozen. Thankfully, our tanks did not, so we still had water to shower. After 3 months, we still do not regret our decision to live in the RV, but we are ready for the house to be finished. I definitely could not live in the RV with no end in sight, but it’s not so bad when we can watch the progress of our new home each day. 🙂

2 responses to “3 Months of RV Living and House Building

  1. Kristen Walker says:

    So glad to hear it is coming along. The house looks beautiful! Merry Christmas to you both!

Leave a Reply

