Living Laughing And Creating

Loving Life On A Budget

First Night In The Camper

on September 12, 2014

Ok, so technically it was our third night in the camper, but it was our first night in our camper at the property. After sobbing uncontrollably while leaving our house for the last time (I’m a very emotional person…we knew it was coming), I began to embrace the challenges ahead. Living in a camper is easy when you are just vacationing, but it’s a totally different story when you have to have everything you need for your everyday life. We discovered very quickly that we will not be traveling while living in this camper. It would be doable, but the camper is much heavier than it would be if we were just packing a few things for a week or weekend trip. I don’t think I can fit another thing in this camper. When I get it a little better organized, I will take pictures of how it is set up. I got to the point where I had to just start throwing stuff in here without organizing simply because I had to get the house emptied and cleaned.

After getting the camper backed into the spot where our builder had put a nice graveled area, my husband went to find us some dinner. (Cooking in this camper is going to be a whole other issue.) He figured I could use some comfort food, so he came home with Chinese. This would have been great if I wasn’t sweating and too hot to eat. We are currently on limited power, so we can’t turn on the air conditioning yet. Most of our dinners went into the fridge, and we will not be ordering Chinese again unless it can be finished in one sitting. Every time the fridge door is opened, the whole camper smells like Chinese for a while.

The good news is we went out with a flashlight last night to find that we have grass! It was only planted a week ago, but it is growing well. We had some heavy rains earlier this week, so we thought most of the seed had washed away. Evidently, my Dad covered it well enough that the rain only helped it grow.

Grass Week 1

 

This brings me to one of our biggest challenges….muddy paws. It rained last night right after we got the camper set up. This red clay gets really nasty when it’s wet. So we took the dogs out and had a towel ready to wipe their paws when it was time to come inside. After only taking the dogs out twice, this is what our rug outside the door looks like.

muddy doormat

It’s a good thing we brought this rug along. It was under the washer and dryer in the house, and we thought it would be useful. I did figure out this morning that if I get the dogs to run on the gravel after traipsing through the mud then the gravel gets most of the mud out their paws. I still have to wipe their paws off, but I’m not finding clumps of mud in the camper when they come inside. I’ve got to go get some runners to cover the small amount of carpet in the camper or it will be ruined before this is over.

Overall, I don’t think this is going to be that bad. We both enjoy being out here, because it’s so nice and peaceful. This is the calming surroundings I need after such a stressful few months. Our adventure is off to a pretty good start. Now it’s time to go sign the papers and give our old house new owners. 🙂

Leave a Reply

