Living Laughing And Creating

Loving Life On A Budget

We’re Starting A “No Spend” Month!

on June 16, 2014

We may be crazy or we may have a great month, but for the next four weeks we will be spending no money. Yes, you read that correctly–we will be spending no money. I’ve seen various blog posts floating around on Pinterest about having “No Spend” months, and I thought it was a great idea. I also thought it would take a little more to convince my husband, but he jumped on board immediately. I read that some people don’t prepare at all, and some people do. Well, if you know me at all, you know I prepared because that’s just how I am. I went through the stash in the freezer and pantry to determine what meals could be made, and then included anything else we would need in the past two weeks’ grocery trips. So what possessed me to try this? A couple things. First, we always have some big bills that come at the end of the summer, so this will help us save for those. Second, we will hopefully be moving soon, which means the deep freezer needs to be emptied. So we are saving money and preparing for the move all at once. The only things we will spend money on this month are the bills (obviously), gas for the cars, my Sunday newspaper, and milk (I just can’t live without milk in the house). Thank goodness I already have everything I need to work on some Christmas gifts, so I have plenty to keep me busy. We will have to get creative when it comes to date nights, but that will all be part of the fun. Yes, I said this would be a great idea and fun….ask me about it in four weeks 🙂

If this idea of a “No Spend” month intrigues you, here is a post for you to read that provides more ideas for how to spend your month without spending any money.

31 Days of Living Well & Spending Zero.  Freeze your spending.  Change Your Life.  Awesome way to reset your spending patterns or kick-start your budget!

Leave a Reply

