Living Laughing And Creating

Loving Life On A Budget

Mirror To Chalkboard

on May 8, 2014

I love going to Goodwill, because you never know what treasures (or messes) you will find. I try to go in every couple weeks just to see what they have. A couple months ago, I stumbled upon this poor mirror.

Mirror

Please excuse the mess in the reflection but do enjoy the cuteness that is my dog. Someone had tried to paint this mirror a couple times and had decided to give up. This is how I found it…painter’s tape and all. Someone had tried to paint it orange, and then decided to paint it white. Needless to say, this was a mess! Now, I will be the first to tell you that I am not a fan of mirrors. So I decided to turn this into a chalkboard for my craft room. I had some chalkboard paint left over from making chalkboard coasters at Christmas, so I scraped away all the painter’s tape and started painting.

Mirror to Chalk Board

With any project, you find something you should have done differently. In this case, I think I should have painted the frame before painting the mirror. I’m not sure it would have made a difference, but it’s something I may try next time. I had a hard time getting clean lines and keeping the paint off the chalkboard area.

I bought this beautiful spa blue paint from Hobby Lobby. I fell in love with this color, and none of the pictures of the finished product really show how pretty this color truly is. I did not need anywhere near this amount of paint, but it was the only size they had, so I bought it anyway (with a coupon, of course). Spa Blue Designer Series Acrylic Paint

Then I decided the frame was a little too plain. So I used this great tutorial to make some burlap flowers. Here is my finished product.

Chalkboard

I’m really pleased with how it turned out. I wish I had a pretty white wall to put it on, but that is just not the case. This quote is my inspiration for the week as I study to take my tests to keep my teaching certification.

chalkboard over desk

It looks nice over my craft table and gives a little color to that paneled wall. I’m very pleased with how it turned out. Now on to another project! 🙂

Leave a Reply

