Living Laughing And Creating

Loving Life On A Budget

The Last Time I Try To Re-purpose Wood

on March 1, 2014

Earlier this week, I posted about replacing our privacy fence last weekend. With all that old fence board pilled up in my yard this week, my mind was racing with all the ideas of things to make with the ones that were still usable. I had grand plans for those old boards! Last night my husband informed me to pick what I wanted because the rest would be heading to the landfill this morning. So after dinner, I went out to pick the best boards. While under the carport shuffling through boards, I lost my balance. It was like slow motion. I knew it was coming, but could not stop it. That’s right, a nail came right through the bottom of my shoe. Sadly, my brand new shoes will now leak when I walk in the rain. Even more sad is the fact I had to go to urgent care this morning to have it looked at and get antibiotics. Thank goodness I had a tetanus shot less than three years ago. That is the last time I try to re-purpose wood. The doctor visit and medicine cost me more than it would have cost to just go to Lowe’s and buy the wood. Lesson learned. Now I’m going to go prop my foot up and read a good book. Walking around is not going to be my first choice of activities for the next few days. Now as a friendly suggestion, if you have not had a tetanus shot in the past 10 years, go get it! You never know when something like this will happen. Trust me, a nail through the foot is enough pain without having to get a shot on top of it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

