Living Laughing And Creating

Loving Life On A Budget

My Word For 2014

on January 20, 2014

I’m not one to make New Year’s resolutions or participate in other random forms of resolutions. I’ve seen various blog posts about individuals’ chosen words for the year. My thought was “that’s nice, but I’m not going out of my way to pick a word for the year.” Little did I know, a word was going to pick me!

The day after Christmas, I took all the Christmas decorations down and began getting my home back to normal. I wanted to do something creative with my mantel, but I just didn’t have the time. I grabbed some things I had around the house and arranged them haphazardly with a “this will have to do” mentality. While sitting on the couch that evening, my husband commented on how he liked that our mantel said “Go”. After taking a second look, I realized he was right.

GO MantelIsn’t that the most pathetic looking mantel you’ve ever seen? I’m planning to do something fun for Valentine’s Day. (If you are interested in the letter printable, go here.)

I’ve decided to make “Go” my word for this year. If this year progresses the way I believe it will, this is going to be a very accurate word. As I pondered the irony of all this, I also thought about some things I want to do this year.

Go try something new.
Go spend time with friends.
Go spend time outside.
Go serve others.
Go learn something new.
Go try new recipes.
Go trust God and take advantage of His blessings. (This has to do with the irony of this word showing up. More to come on that.)

This is going to be a very interesting year. I’m excited to GO and see what happens next! 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

