Living Laughing And Creating

Loving Life On A Budget

Favorite Homemade Laundry Detergent

on January 13, 2014

As I’ve mentioned before, I’ve tried very hard over the past (almost) year to try more homemade cleaning items. For me, it’s about saving money and limiting the amount of chemicals I use in our home. Laundry detergent was actually where I started this whole adventure. Have you noticed the price of laundry detergent lately? It’s soap! It should not cost that much! Due to being an allergy sufferer (I should be in a bubble!), I do not like laundry detergent with scents. My choice detergent was All Free & Clear, because it didn’t have a scent, worked well, and has a decent price. I tell you this because this detergent is where I base my comparison for store bought vs. homemade detergent. There are tons of blog posts out there about homemade laundry detergent, and I read a lot of them. I needed it to be made of items I could buy easily and cheaply. My next problem was the fact my home has a septic tank. This makes a difference in the detergent you can use. Powder would be so much easier to make and store, however all my cost savings would go out the window plus some when we have to call people out to fix the septic tank. So, if you have a septic tank, you have to use a liquid detergent. All that being said, here is the link to my favorite laundry detergent.

It’s simple, uses items I can pick up at the store, and is oh so very cheap! I started using this in May 2013 and I am still using my original boxes of borax and washing soda as of today. I only do about 7-10 loads of laundry a week. So, if I did 8 loads of laundry for 37 weeks, that is equal to 296 loads of laundry. I only paid about $7 for the boxes of borax and washing soda at Walmart. I usually only pay less than $1 for each bottle of dawn. I wish I knew how many bottles of dawn I went through. All I know is this method is very cost effective.

How well does it clean? Very well. My husband has even noticed a difference in not only the cleanliness of his clothes, but also the fact his polos that he wears to work every day are not fading near as fast as they had in the past. I attribute the clothes staying nicer to the fact they aren’t being washed with all the harsh chemicals. My husband is also very good about getting some nice grease stains on his shirts. This detergent has really cut down on the amount of resolve I have to spray on his shirts to get them clean. I have not had to rewash near as many shirts since using this detergent.

Cost effective {check}, cleans well {check}, no scent {check}= this one is a keeper! Did I mention I make several gallons at a time in less than 10 minutes? This is a homemade cleaner you will be glad you tried! 🙂

Leave a Reply

