Living Laughing And Creating

Loving Life On A Budget

Books I Read In 2013

on December 30, 2013

I love to read, and this year I read a total of 30 books. I didn’t read quite as many this year as I did last year, but I’m ok with that. Here are the books I read this year with some comments, of course!

1. My Sister’s Keeper (Jodi Picoult)
2. Jewel (Bret Lott)
3. The Memory Keeper’s Daughter (Kim Edwards)
4. Slaughterhouse-Five (Kurt Vonnegut)
5. Hatchet (Gary Paulsen)
6. Sullivan’s Island (Dorothea Benton Frank) – Let’s just be honest, I love all of Dorothea Benton Frank’s books. Some are better than others, but I enjoy books set in the SC low country.
7. The Fruitful Wife (Hayley DiMarco) – This is a must read for every woman! It doesn’t matter if you are married or not…this book will challenge and encourage you. I’m planning to read it again many times!
8. Must Love Dogs (Claire Cook)
9. The Frog Prince (Elle Lothlorien)
10. My So-Called Life as a Proverbs 31 Wife (Sara Horn)
11. A Thousand Splendid Suns (Khaled Hosseini) – This is a very heavy read and gave me nightmares. It took me a while to read this book. I can’t imagine living in that situation.
12. The Great Gatsby (F. Scott Fitzgerald) (re-read!)
13. Two For The Dough (Janet Evanovich) – Her books are just fun to read. The audio versions of her books are also great for road trips. My husband and I listened to One for the Money on a road trip this fall.
14. A Painted House (John Grisham) – This was one of my favorites this year.
15. The Summer We Read Gatsby (Danielle Ganek)
16. Bread & Wine (Shauna Niequist) – This was also a great read! It made me want to start a dinner club.
17. Porch Lights (Dorothea Benton Frank)
18. Hotel on the Corner of Bitter and Sweet (Jamie Ford) – I wasn’t fond of this one.
19. Nanny Returns (Emma McLaughlin & Nicola Krause)
20. The Land of Mango Sunsets (Dorothea Benton Frank)
21. A Little Salty to Cut the Sweet (Sophie Hudson)
22. Bud, Not Buddy (Christopher Paul Curtis)
23. The Lightening Thief (Rick Riordan)
24. Julie & Julia (Julie Powell)
25. Safe Haven (Nicholas Sparks)
26. Return to Sullivans Island (Dorothea Benton Frank)
27. Happy, Happy, Happy (Phil Robertson) – I don’t usually read books by people who are recently famous, but I’m glad I picked up this book. I really learned a lot about Phil and the Robertson family and have so much more respect for them now.
28. Sparkly Green Earrings (Melanie Shankle) – If you have children, work with children, or just have children in your daily life, you will laugh until you cry! I’m a fan of Melanie Shankle’s blog because of her writing style. This book was as fun to read as her blog is. I’m glad to know she has a new book coming out in 2014!
29. I Don’t Know How She Does It (Allison Pearson)
30. Skipping Christmas (John Grisham) – One of my favorite Christmas movies, Christmas with the Kranks, is based on this book and actually follows the book pretty closely. This was a fun read for the holiday season!

I’m spending the last week of 2013 catching up on all the magazines that have piled up on my desk the past few months, and the pile of magazines I just found on my bookshelf. šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

