Living Laughing And Creating

Loving Life On A Budget

Weekly Favorites 12/27/2013

on December 27, 2013

I hope everyone had a fantastic Christmas! I’ve posted a lot of favorites over the past few weeks, but this week you will find out what I made for my family, friends, and neighbors for Christmas. I find things to make for Christmas and birthdays throughout the year. If I see something I know someone will love, I pin it on Pinterest and make a mental note to get started on that project. I love making homemade gifts, especially when I know the recipients really love them.

As I stated in a previous post, I wasn’t in a baking mood this year. So instead of cookies, the neighbors and some friends received a snowman with hot chocolate and chalkboard coasters. Some close friends received ruffle scarves. I didn’t take pictures of those, but they turned out cute.

Chalkboard Coasters                                 Hot Chocolate Snowman

Coaster Directions: http://www.livingwellspendingless.com/2012/12/05/chalkboard-coasters/
Hot Chocolate Snowman Directions: http://forwhatitsworth-ornot.blogspot.com/2010/11/hot-cocoa-snowman-gift.html

I have a friend that loves anything Mickey Mouse. When I saw these ornaments, I had to make them for her!

Mickey Mouse OrnamentsI made this tote for my sister-in-law. This was the first one I tried that turned out really well. I tried to make myself one, but it’s waiting on a visit from my seam ripper. Now that I know how to make one successfully, let’s hope I can fix mine to be this pretty!

Tote BagI made this beautiful shell wreath for my mom, since she loves beach items. I picked up these shells last summer while I was there and bought the starfish at the little gift shop. I used a straw wreath form and covered it with burlap, then I added a pretty burlap bow.

Shell Wreath

I made my husband a holder for his thumb drives, because they are everywhere! He actually asked for one that would hold 12, so I came up with this design. Since I wasn’t able to find how to make these online, I plan to put together a post on how I made this one soon.

Thumb Drive HolderI also made him a blanket from all his old polo shirts. I found this tutorial to be helpful in understanding and planning this project. My sweet friend embroidered his initials on one of the blocks for me. I think that really added a nice touch to this blanket.

Polo Shirt BlanketFinally, I made my dad a pallet wood coat hook. My husband was putting the hangers on the back on Christmas Eve morning right before my dad arrived. Needless to say, I had no time for pictures before wrapping it! I distressed it with yellow and green paint, because my dad’s a John Deere kind of guy. It looked really nice when we finished it.

My plan is to take a break from making gifts and get my craft room painted and organized. However, I already have birthday gifts to make! 🙂

Leave a Reply

