Living Laughing And Creating

Loving Life On A Budget

Gingerbread Man Pillow

on December 16, 2013

Not only have I been crafting like crazy to get all my Christmas gifts finished, I’ve also been working on a fun project with the kids in the after-school program. Yes, this will be our third week working on this project, but the kids have really enjoyed it. I found this gingerbread man pillow on Pinterest a couple months ago.

One of my goals with our arts and crafts time at school is to teach the kids some basic sewing skills. So they learned how to sew on buttons and how to blanket stitch over the past couple weeks. The kids have done very well, but they are having the most trouble keeping their needle on the thread. They are getting better though! I’ve learned it takes about three class periods of an hour to get this project finished. One of the girls came in twice last week, so I have one of 11 gingerbread men finished! Here is how her’s turned out.

Gingerbread Man Pillow

Isn’t he cute? All we had were the big buttons, so we opted to draw on faces. I think they still turned out great! I have two days left to get the rest finished, so I’m hoping that happens! This was a great project to do with the third through fifth graders, and I would definitely recommend it for that age group. They are at the age where you can show them what to do and they can do it on their own. I spent more time helping get needles threaded than anything else. This is a great project that the kids really enjoyed and they are turning out really cute!

Leave a Reply

