Living Laughing And Creating

Loving Life On A Budget

Christmas Decorating 2013

on December 3, 2013

I’m a big fan of traditions. I think that has a lot to do with my personality, but I especially love holiday traditions. I can tell you that on Thanksgiving, we will enjoy a delicious meal then decorate for Christmas. When the tree is up, we enjoy dessert and watch Christmas Vacation. That’s just the way it goes, and I love it! I refuse to let myself watch Christmas movies until Thanksgiving, because I believe that we should enjoy Thanksgiving before preparing for Christmas. This year, due to unusual circumstances, I put up our tree the Saturday before (gasp!). I can honestly say I wasn’t in the mood to decorate so decorations this year are not what they usually are. I did discover I had bought blue and silver ornaments, garland and ribbon on clearance last year, so I left the red and gold stuff packed up and opted for something different. Christmas Tree 2013

I just realized this picture makes my tree look like it’s leaning. It’s really not leaning. As it turns out, I just can’t take a picture. I learned how to make the bow by following this tutorial. The blue and silver will do for this year, but I plan to make some ornaments throughout the coming year in order for my tree to have a more homemade look next year. I know my tree looks pitiful without a skirt, but that is not an option at my house until Christmas Eve. My dogs think the skirt is one of their blankets since it’s on the floor. This can mean bad things for my tree, so having no skirt is for the tree’s protection.

I also have this subway art framed on our end table. I put mine in a black frame and it looks really nice. I love that she also offers this in several color choices. If you want to add something different to your decoration routine and don’t have a lot of time, this would be perfect. All you have to do is print it and frame it!

If you have been procrastinating, start decorating! There is only three weeks until Christmas! Or if you are in the same boat with me, finish making those gifts! 🙂

Leave a Reply

