Living Laughing And Creating

Loving Life On A Budget

Favorite Homemade Dishwasher Detergent

on November 19, 2013

Earlier this year, I decided to start trying to make as many items possible instead of buying pre-packaged items. One item that I hated buying was dishwasher detergent. It’s so expensive! I knew there had to be a cheaper way to run my dishwasher. I had two criteria during my search: 1. it had to clean well, and 2. it had to be made of ingredients that I would normally have around the house. I found this recipe and fell in love! She even does the math to show how cheap it is to make!

homemade dishwashing detergent

http://happymoneysaver.com/homemade-dishwasher-detergent/

I made the tabs version and they were way too thick! It took them several days to dry out. If you decide to make the tabs, be aware that you only need a small amount. I ended up having to break mine in half and I still think they may be too thick. I also stopped buying rinse aids, such as Jet Dry. Now I only use vinegar and the combination of the homemade tabs and vinegar works great! Give it a try! You’ll be glad you did! 🙂

Leave a Reply

