Living Laughing And Creating

Loving Life On A Budget

Stuffed Turkey Craft Project

on November 13, 2013

Last week, I was blessed with the opportunity to begin working in an after school program at a local elementary school. I have really enjoyed my almost two weeks of working there, and I am looking forward to getting to know the children that will be in my classroom next week. I will be working with third graders, however until they begin on Monday, I have been helping in the fourth and fifth grade rooms. This has been great because it gave me the opportunity to learn how the afternoon runs before going out on my own. On the first day, I was put in charge of the weekly arts and crafts projects for all the kids. The kids get to sign up for the activities they want to participate in each day, such as sports, cooking, arts and crafts, etc. Arts and crafts is offered as an option on one of the days. Since this is an after school program with fewer students, I decided to choose projects that teachers are not likely to have time to incorporate into their day. Let’s be honest, those hard-working teachers have a lot to teach and a short time to teach it! After doing some looking on Pinterest (why look anywhere else?), I decided on this very cute stuffed fleece turkey project.

Stuffed Turkey Kids Craft (Click picture for link to directions.)

I fell in love! Aren’t these the cutest turkeys? With some prep work, the fourth and fifth graders were able to make them in about an hour. They loved these turkeys and are now very excited to know what we will be doing in art next! My art class may soon rival the numbers in the gym class! That makes me super excited!

Here’s how my turkey turned out.

Stuffed Turkey CraftI couldn’t find any patterned fleece I liked, so I opted for adding designs to my plain fleece with sharpies. Allow me to warn you, sharpies do not dry quickly on fleece which will result in you having multicolored hands by the time you are done. I found a way to reduce this. After drawing a small area, use a tissue or paper towel to blot off any extra ink. This helps keep hands clean and keeps sharpie from getting everywhere if you happen to drop the turkey on your carpet (oops!). As a side note of this project, I found out hand sanitizer works great at getting sharpie off tables!

Overall, this was an easy and fun project that the kids really enjoyed. That makes me smile! 🙂

Leave a Reply

